Darlington Diaries: Josh Hengen

Josh Hengen ’14 currently works with Teach For America as Davidson’s Campus Campaign Coordinator. He is a key presence on the club Ultimate Frisbee team and in the Phi Gamma Delta fraternity, and served last semester as the president of Eco Team. An Environmental Studies major and Arabic minor, Josh’s wide range of interests includes education, the environment, art and architectural history, and the Middle East. We recently had the opportunity to sit down with him to discuss our recent visit to Teach For America-affiliated Darlington Middle School. 

Image

Josh Hengen ’14

How did you become interested in teaching/education?

My parents are both teachers at McDonogh, a private school in Maryland. Their decision to work there gave me the opportunity to go to that school and receive a great education. I have always known I was lucky, but now I am realizing to what extent. Some students simply do not get the chance to have adequate supplies or quality teachers because of the zip code they are born in. I want to help fix that problem.

What surprised you most about Darlington Middle School?

The students at Darlington Middle were very well-behaved and attentive, especially considering it was Friday and a half-day. The teachers I saw in action were all engaging and informative. I expected to leave scared and concerned; instead, I was encouraged.

How did TFA’s presence seem to affect the goings on at Darlington?

The principal was very enthusiastic about TFA teachers because of their energy and ability to relate to the students. After sitting in on classes that featured real world examples, interactive games, and even a little Destiny’s Child, I understand why. TFA teachers seemed to bring a breath of fresh air and an aura of opportunity to the school.

Did this classroom visit change your opinion about Teach For America?

Although I only sat in on one class, the three first year teachers I saw work each had their classes respect and were able to deliver information in creative ways. I reassured me that teachers could be successful in their first year and be an asset to their students. Going forward I am much more willing to step into the classroom with a clear, positive mental picture of real teachers in action.

Leave a comment